My favourite books

This time of the year is always the time I read the most, there is honestly nothing better than sitting going to the pool with a good book in one hand & an ice cream in the other hand.

Isn’t it magical to enter new worlds without leaving home? Books always inspires me & spark my imagination; it allows me to look at the world from different perspectives.

Sin título

Harry Potter – J. K. Rowling

Harry Potter’s books will always hold a special place in my heart as they were the first real books I read. By now there’s not much that can be said about Harry Potter that hasn’t been said already. It’s not hard to see why. If you still don’t know what it’s about, you are either very ignorant or have been living on another planet for the past 10 years. This series is very dear to my heart, not only because of sentimental reason but also Rowling’s impeccable writing. I always wanted the magic to stay just a little longer.

So please if you haven’t read the books (you sure you are from this planet?), do yourself a favour, go to the nearest bookstore & buy all of them, it will not disappoint you.

The Night Circus – Erin Morgenstern

The Night Circus is a hard book to summarize but it’s a masterpiece. It has so much potential. Morgenstern manages to create a strange but lovely world, & I’ve come to the conclusion that no matter how young or old I am, The Night Circus will always be one of my favorite books of all time. Just the whole premise of the Circus, the characters, the illusions, the mystery… It all just takes my breath away. The Night Circus has satisfied & brought to life the circus that I’ve only seen in my dreams.

This book is written so beautifully that I couldn’t put it down. I wasn’t ready for real life yet. The Night Circus  it’s a place where pretty magic is passed off as illusion so that us muggles won’t be scared by it. I’d go to that circus.

The Raven Cycle – Maggie Stiefvater

I can’t begin to tell you how much I loved these books. It has that kind of magic/fantasy air that is compelling from page one + the most unique plot: talking trees in a magical wood, dead kings, invisible energy paths, dreamt ravens, cursed kisses & prophesied deaths.

This unusual story follows a group of teenagers as they embark upon an adventure steeped in Welsh mythology & magic in Henrietta.
I always found myself drawn in by the beautiful writing & the fabulous characters. I completely adored the friendship between them. The character developments are fascinating. You find yourself truly attached to all of the characters, for one reason or another. There are twists & turns you might never expect, & some you may hit yourself for not realizing.

This series of 4 books should be on your summer reading list for sure! The more you return to this series, the more secrets you will uncover. 

The Hobbit – J.R.R Tolkien

I’m sure we all know this story since this got made into 3 films (that I also love, by the way). It’s simply a charming adventure story, perhaps one of the most charming & adventurous ever told.

From a hole in the ground came Bilbo Baggins, a hobbit who just loves being at home to trying to win a share of the treasure guarded by the dragon Smaug. The tale goes from lighthearted to dark seeing Bilbo face many obstacles.
Tolkien’s imagination is endless & I respect him immensely for that. To be able to conjure a whole magic new world, with the incredible landscapes & the intricate details… absolutely amazing. The writing is easy to understand, & flows wonderfully.

 If you haven’t read it, you should, because it’s so enjoyable.

And Then There Were None – Agatha Christie

I love Agatha Christie, she has written fantastic murder mysteries & her stories never get tiring. But this is the one that just comes out on top every time.

This story is captivating & will keep you reading until the end. Ten people are lured onto an island under false pretenses just to realize that they are all about to be killed for the crimes they have committed in the past, in accordance with the Ten Little Indians rhyme.

I swear I never saw it coming. This one had me guessing until the very end & even then I read back to see what I missed. It’s just a very clever novel, full of mystery & suspense. Agatha Christie’s mysteries are very simply put together but always clever & hard to decipher.

Arrangements-08

Thank you for reading & please let me know if you have any book recommendations for me x

19 thoughts on “My favourite books”

  1. Great choices!
    Harry Potter is, of course, a must mention. Even though it’s been a long while since I last re-read the books, Harry Potter will always be part of me. Even though, I have to admit, Percy Jackson by Rick Riordan took a more permenant place in my heart. I really did grow up with Percy Jackson, after all. If you haven’t read it… you so should (:

    Anyway, even though I haven’t read some of the books you mentiones, I heard a lot about them. Like The Raven Boys (:

    Great post ^^

    My blog: http://magiverse.blogspot.co.il/

    Like

    1. I read the Percy Jackson + Heroes of Olympus books last year & I enjoyed them a lot too!
      Thanks for reading, your blog is lovely btw! I hope you have a lovely day xx

      Like

  2. Great choice in books. =) I love the Hobbit and the Lord of the Rings trilogy. I’ve been reading them every year for almost eleven years now. And of course Harry Potter has that lovely nostalgic value, having also grown up with those books.

    Like

  3. I adore And Then There Were None! The ending… I never saw it coming. I’ll definitely have to add some of these books to my never-ending “to be read” list…

    Like

  4. Ah, I’ve only read Harry Potter off your list but I really want to get my hands on The Night Circus and The Raven Cycle. I’m hoping there will be a boxset for TRC so I can get all the hardbacks at once–they are so beautiful!

    Like

Leave a Reply

